Targeting Phonics Book 1

Product Code 9781925726343


Years K/ Prep – 1

Aligned to the Australian Curriculum

Introduces the alphabet and short vowels, following a specific sequence, and supported with handwriting and spelling activities.

The Targeting Phonics series uses systematic synthetic phonics and follows the learning progression in the Australian Curriculum.


This book includes:

  • the 26 letters of the alphabet (graphemes) and their relationship to the 44 sounds (phonemes) of the English language.
  • the initial sounds of the 21 consonants.
  • the five short vowels (a, e, i, o, u)The letters and their sounds appear in the following sequence:s,a,t,pn,i,d,mg,o,c,bh,e,r,uf,l,j,kv,w,y,zq,x
    Each unit includes a:
  • pictorial Sound Card with an audio component, that lets children hear each sound pronounced correctly before they complete the activities.
  • QR code that links to the video of each sound.
  • handwriting activity for reinforcing muscle memory to remember each letter and encourage fluent handwriting skills.


Review pages follow each unit with activities covering comprehension, spelling and high frequency words.

The back section of this book provides:

  • Assessment for all the letters and sounds.
  • Word Lists for each unit.
  • High frequency Sight Word cards that can be photocopied and laminated as flashcards.
  • Answers.