Oxford Reading for Comprehension Decodables

Product Code ORFC


Fully decodable Australian guided reading for F–2

Oxford Reading for Comprehension Decodables is a unique fully decodable Australian guided reading series for Years F–2. It is underpinned by a proven, finely sequenced phonics framework aligned to Letters and Sounds and the research-based Comprehension Skills Framework.

The ORFC Decodables series is structured so that the introduction of new sounds is supported by one fiction title and one non-fiction title in Oxford Reading Levels 1–6 to help develop strong early vocabulary acquisition and build student reading success.

The 60 engaging fiction and non-fiction guided reading texts:

  • support strong phonic knowledge in every student by practising new sounds introduced via a proven phonic framework, Letters and Sounds
  • are structured so that the introduction of new sounds is supported by one fiction title and one non-fiction title
  • are meticulously levelled to both phonic and wider reading levelling criteria, ensuring skill progression across word reading and comprehension.

Phonics and comprehension coaching for every text:

  • provide support to use these fully decodable texts as part of your guided reading sessions
  • support embedding phonic knowledge, with guidance for the practice of newly introduced sounds and high frequency words
  • include guidance for explicitly teaching and modelling comprehension strategies
  • provide comprehension questions to monitor students’ use of comprehension skills during reading
  • include supportive before, during and after reading materials.

The ORFC Decodables Teacher Handbook provides complete support for the series with:

  • an overview of the phonics framework and introduction of high frequency words
  • suggested phonic warm up activities, tips on practising sounds, support for segmenting and blending
  • support for teaching, modelling and developing comprehension strategies and skills in the classroom
  • an overview and explanation of the Comprehension Skills Framework and its application across the series
  • guides to monitoring and assessment of phonic knowledge and comprehension skills using the series.

Extensive digital materials available on Oxford Owl include:

  • guidance for using the Oxford Wordlist with the series, with access to the 500 words aligned to the Letters and Sounds phonic sequence
  • ‘Think Aloud’ and Strategy Tip Flashcards
  • Graphic Organiser templates
  • Student Assessment templates.

Whole-school access to eBooks of all 60 titles when you adopt the full ORFC Decodables print series.